RSS

Eat your peas

11 Jul

Emperor Narcissus scolded us AGAIN today and instructed us to swallow his tax raising, big spending ways.

“It’s not going to get easier, it’s going to get harder. So we might as well do it now; pull off the Band-Aid, eat our peas.”

This is what happens when you eat Obama’s peas.

New 2012 bumpersticker?

 

Update:  It gets better.  I had no idea that this was a term coined by the late William Saffire in reference to Michael Dukakis…

“Eat Your Peas” Government is a euphemism for the Nanny State, for the government which assumes that the great bulk of citizens are simply too childlike or stupid to be able to be trusted to make their own decisions about… well… anything.  William Safire famously referred to 1988 Democrat presidential candidate Michael Dukakis as an Eat Your Peas politician for being such a scold, and the term stuck.

The fact that Obama actually said it is revealing and the whole tone of his speech, that the American people are too stupid and need parental government, really does seal the fate of the Scold-In-Chief.  Incidentally, the link goes to Australia, where they are experiencing the same issues with their Leader as we are with ours.

 

 
12 Comments

Posted by on July 11, 2011 in politics

 

12 responses to “Eat your peas

  1. Laura Glover

    July 11, 2011 at 6:31 pm

    i guess that’s better than what I originally thought I heard him say. “It’s not going to get easier, it’s going to get harder. So we might as well do it now; pull off the Band-Aid, eat our piece.”

     
    • P. Henry Saddleburr

      July 11, 2011 at 9:18 pm

      Hmm. Didn’t hear it that way, but there is no doubt that Obama is a thug so it kinda makes sense.

       
      • Laura Glover

        July 11, 2011 at 9:57 pm

        I was only half listening when I heard the clip on the radio, so it was certainly my error that was corrected at the 6pm hour and I saw it on TV. Not a big deal.. just thought I would share my (funny) mistake.

         
  2. Laura Glover

    July 11, 2011 at 6:32 pm

    (Piece referring to a handgun)

     
  3. spot_the_dog

    July 11, 2011 at 6:53 pm

    Thanks kindly for the link 🙂

    By the way, our Eat Your Peas Prime Minister just took her party, Labor, to a new record low in polls just out today… their primary vote is down to just 27%.   Let’s hope O’Bambi has similar results from his use of the line!

    Cheers mate.

     
    • P. Henry Saddleburr

      July 11, 2011 at 9:16 pm

      It’s been an educational experience for me. You are most kindly welcome for the link. It makes everything much more interesting to see that Aussies are suffering from the same affliction we Yanks are.

      We’re all in this together and as a group we will throw off the chains, banish the statists, and move arm in arm to a better world.

      Thanks for your original post.

       
  4. Dean K. Ehran

    July 12, 2011 at 3:32 pm

    I queued off of the innocuous word “our.” Eat our peas. As if there is a large bowl of the awful things there on Pennsylvania Ave that we all own. I don’t buy peas typically. I don’t really have a use for them. I just don’t believe in a collective pea-eating America. Purchasing and eating peas is an individual choice Mr. President – though I suppose your understanding of commercial authority under the Constitution permits you to make me buy peas and eat them under the presumption that by not buying them I would affect commerce.

    If you actually worked for me, I would have given you your two weeks notice months ago.

     
  5. Saddlesore

    July 14, 2011 at 11:52 am

    Remember Obama using the phrase about everyone getting “wee-weed up”? Where does he come up with this nonsense?

     

Leave a comment