RSS

Can We Tweak the Pledge of Allegiance Just a Bit at this Point?

24 Jun

First, let me say that on the day after Barack Obama was reelected I lowered my American flag, folded it respectfully and placed it on a shelf. It has not flown since. My flag display was a personal tribute to the country I love.

America.

It’s not me.

It’s you.

I recently attended two patriotic events, one being a discussion of the Constitution, the other being yet another futile act of defiance against a gangster government in Washington, D.C. called ‘Audit the IRS’. Both events commenced with a prayer and the ‘Pledge of Allegiance’. At both events, as I recited the ‘Pledge’, it felt more and more hollow.

I pledge allegiance
To the flag of the United States of America.
And to the Republic, for which it stands.
One nation, under God
Indivisible
With Liberty and Justice for All.

As I mouthed these words, which I have been reciting since childhood, something seemed amiss. Perhaps I didn’t fully comprehend them as a child, but now I felt I was reciting a creed that is now a LIE.
Incidentally, in 2012 I eavesdropped on my county’s local Democrat Committee meeting and unlike my county’s Republican Committee meeting………they didn’t recite the Pledge.
Shall we dissect this once hallowed oath?
But before we do, let’s go back to Red Skelton and his elementary school principal’s reaction to the monotonous recitation of the Pledge by the students?

I….
me…the individual.

The American government is assaulting the individual in favor of the collective, is it not? Not just from elected officials, but from the fourth estate, the unelected bureaucracy crafting law that pits government against the individual on a daily basis. Laws that come from unaccountable persons targeted against the individual are daily occurences.

Bureaucrats that support Obama target the opposition by sending in SWAT teams against guitar manufacturers and Romney contributors. The full power of the federal government has been unleashed with extreme prejudice against this president’s political foes. Resist this president and suffer the consequences.

I pledge allegiance to the flag of the United Sates of America and to the Republic for which it stands…….

I actually do pledge allegiance to a Constitutional Republic, but to a Soviet style Republic I refuse to pledge allegiance. We no longer live in a Constitutional Republic. And most elected ‘Republicans’ do not carry the banner of the Constitution. Are you listening, Marco? John McCain? Lindsey Graham?

One Nation, Under God.
The Democratic Party’s platform committee removed any reference to God during their nominating convention in 2012, but the Democrat machine, fearing that their anti-God inclinations would reveal them as the radicals they truly are, reinserted God into the platform to thunderous boos from the nominating committee. You know what sucks when God is brought into a godless party? Stuff like murdering millions of unborn babies becomes most……inconvenient.

But no worries. Say ‘God Bless America’ under your breath, fool several million Americans and this whole godliness thing fades into the background if you can unleash pure evil against a truly godly man like Mitt Romney. Obama, with the aid of his co-conspirators at NBC/CBS.CNN/ABC/WashingtonPost/New York Times, etc., etc., etc., usurped the moral high ground and had the audacity and the megabucks to pull off the lie. You see. Mitt Romney is evil. Barack Obama is not. Got it?

Indivisible. Seriously? This country has never been more divided. Brother against brother. Sister against sister. Friends became foes. It’s just like Obama designed it. The blueprint for this division came from Joseph Stalin, Vladimir Lenin, Saul Alinsky, Barack Obama Sr., William Ayers and others.

With Liberty and Justice for All

Did the voters in Philly in 2008 who were threatened away from the polling place with baseball bats experience liberty and receive justice from Barack Obama’s Justice Department, led by Eric Holder? No they did not. Did Barack Obama’s Internal Revenue Service render liberty or Justice to little patriot groups and religious groups? No. They did not. They crushed them.

So….
The Pledge that we have endlessly recited, and kind of understood as the basic blueprint for our society since we were kids no longer applies.
I hate to tinker with the fabric of our national underpinnings, but it’s time for a little tweak, perhaps. Hell, they’ve trashed the meaning of the Pledge. So what’s the problem with a little tweak?
How about…

I Pledge Allegiance to the Constitution and to all Americans who embrace it.
To all Others I have nothing but contempt and I will fight you at every juncture.
Any attempt at corrupting our Constitution and our nation will be met with obstruction.
And if you don’t like it…….find a place for yourself in another country.
In the meantime, we will be biding our time, anticipating your predictable downfall.
And rest assured that our kindness to you will overwhelm you, as we are not Stalinst in our persuasion.

OK. It ain’t perfect, but I could recite this without the feeling of moral compromise that I feel when reciting the old school pledge.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 24, 2013 in politics

 

2 responses to “Can We Tweak the Pledge of Allegiance Just a Bit at this Point?

  1. sushieq

    June 24, 2013 at 11:28 pm

    You know, I’ve been feeling this way for a while, too. I go to patriotic/Constitution-upholding-type meetings occasionally, and I feel weird pledging allegiance to a country that abandoned me and all the principles I hold dear years ago. I like the meetings I go to–it’s nice to be among like-minded people–but I am about thirty years younger than the vast majority in attendance, and I’m no spring chicken myself. Where the hell are the young(er) people?? But I digress…

    It might be interesting to come up with another pledge (no offense to your noble effort, but it lacks an essential poetry…it doesn’t roll off the tongue). Perhaps a poet or songwriter could come up with something?

    I’m glad you’re writing again. I always enjoy your posts.

     
  2. P. Henry Saddleburr

    June 25, 2013 at 7:24 am

    Yes, my poetry skills are non-existent as is my appreciation of poetry. The last poem I liked started with, “There once was a hermit named Dave….”

     

Leave a Reply

 
