RSS

Silver Lining

07 Nov

Depression has sort of been what has been dominating my life for well over a couple of months. I’ve kind of been anticipating the result we got yesterday. It was obvious from the outset that a bizarre narrative had seized the conversation and was being actively promoted by a news media that was more invested in outcome than truth. And their desired outcome was obvious if one was following Benghazi or Sandy.

Then there was the free shit that Obama was taking from us to provide to his electorate. Free cell phones. Free food. Free housing.

As Rush put it today, you can’t beat Santa Claus. One party is offering opportunity. An equal opportunity to make something of yourself. The other is offering free shit, without conditions. And without effort. Vote for Obama and get the free shit. That’s good for 47 million people.

But wait. If you vote today you won’t get just one Freebie, we’ll send you TWO Freebies.

But this post was supposed to be about a silver lining.

And it is.

I have been engaged in this battle actively since right before the 2008 election. I have also been an agitator and organizer since then, including being a founding member within the Tea Party movement. I was in DC for 912. I was in DC for the Obamacare vote multiple times. I was in DC for multiple anti-Obamacare events, and DTN was there at the Supreme Court when the pro-O people were captured being paid to be there and the woman with the knitted uterus showed me her knitted….uterus. Thank God it didn’t go further than that. I was going to go home with her, but knitting freaks me out.

But that’s not the silver lining. This is.
Over the last 4 years I’ve met the most wonderful people I’ve ever met and we’ll be fast friends for decades to come. And the movement is going to take down this Republican Party and the media, both of whom are culpable…but I digress.

I am very happy today to have new friends like Joe. Lisa. Chris. Eric. Daryl. Louise. Todd x 2. Tom. Laura x 2. Glenn. Bob.

The list is too long to enumerate.
Nevertheless.

We may be fucked altogether. At least we’re altogether.
And when they ship us off to the reeducation camp, it’ll be a courteous and civil allocation of space.

And they’ve all agreed that I get the top bunk even though I’m a bed wetter, they’ll take turns sleeping in the bottom bunk because they care about me.

But seriously. If nothing was achieved over the last four years, the immense friendships that have been developed over that same time are cast in steel.

Thank you all for letting me into your lives and for sharing a common cause.

Ultimately, we’ll prevail, but it’s good to have each other to lean on in the interim.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on November 7, 2012 in politics

 

5 responses to “Silver Lining

  1. Laura

    November 8, 2012 at 1:16 am

    You always like being on top. Thanks for including me, buddy.

     
  2. Martin M. McMartin

    November 8, 2012 at 6:26 am

    That is some silver lining and is truly the key if Liberty is to win out over tyranny. The enemy knows that by destroying local communities and their ability to support one another and replacing it with federal agencies and programs distributing crumbs, we will be reduced to loyal subjects. We must do all we can to strengthen and support each other and I too am thankful for your friendship. But let me also say it is time for us all to double our efforts. At this time, after a crushing defeat, we must resolve to shake off the disappointment and build on what we have developed over the last four years.
    As for the thought of surrendering to tyranny and sharing a communal cell in the reeducation camp I refer to our former Hanover resident…

    Why stand we here idle? What is it that gentlemen wish? What would they have? Is life so dear, or peace so sweet, as to be purchased at the price of chains and slavery? Forbid it, Almighty God! I know not what course others may take; but as for me, give me liberty, or give me death!

    Patrick Henry – March 23, 1775

     
  3. Pedro

    November 8, 2012 at 9:02 am

    Today’s headline article in the AJC is about how the American people won Unity and Healthcare for all on Tuesday. Apparently they missed the popular vote count and the part about Obamacare not being free but being mandated. They have beat that drum successfully and will do so even when the wheels fall off in January.

    I sincerely hope we’re all wrong but I gave the guy a shot to prove himself in 2009 and 2010 and what he proved was that he is a divider, not a uniter and that he would stoop to any means to impose his agenda. The only silver lining in my life is the silver metal investments that may float my boat when the dollar implodes.

     
  4. Deborah Sampson

    November 8, 2012 at 10:47 pm

    I’m verklempt, P. Henry, or maybe it’s the thought of the consequences of being on the bottom bunk. It hasn’t been lost on me that if not for that worthless POS, I would never have met so many of the amazing people I now consider to be friends. We are together in this, and come what may, it is comforting to know that there are like-minded travelers who will be there for us. We got your back, P.

     
  5. nooneofanyimport

    November 10, 2012 at 8:19 pm

    I’m a practical lady. One of my silver linings is feeling more certain about the direction of our country’s future. It’s not a good direction, but anyway. My vacillating opinions over the last 4 years were driving me crazy: “it’s too late,” “we’ve got a chance,” yes, no, maybe. . . .

    Also this whole blogging habit is thanks to America’s cultural crisis. And I love both writing and reading/getting to know so many clever, likeminded folks. So there’s that too.

    Now, I’m off to apply for an Obamaphone . . .

    Lin

     

Leave a Reply

 
