RSS

A Glimmer of Hope

24 Sep

Readers of this blog know that I’ve become disgusted, despondent and generally irritable as a result the electoral process, and that a man who should be run out of town on a rail appears to be in the running, the only reason for which is that he is a black.  A white guy doing to the country what this jug earred idiot is doing wouldn’t even stand a chance.

But he’s a black man, so some won’t even evaluate his performance.

But, in spite of all of that, I went out door knocking last weekend.  I actually love door knocking.  Talking to strangers on their own turf and getting their opinions is a wonderful thing to participate in.  It seems scary at first, but it’s amazing how standing on someone’s stoop and asking their opinion is more revealing and educational than reading all of the Real Clear Politics polling averages.

I spoke with the underemployed electrician.  I spoke with the concerned mothers and fathers.  I spoke with the elderly fretting about the future of their grandkids.

The list of doors to knock were supposedly the ‘undecided’.  This wasn’t the Republican list.  This was the undecided.  The supposed middle.

As with all door knocking exercises, you really only get to talk to the 40% that are home on a Saturday morning.

But here is the glimmer of hope I witnessed.  Of all of the people I spoke with, which was around 20, only 2 wouldn’t indicate their voter preference and all the others were either firmly Romney people or firmly anti-Obama people who will be voting for Romney.

I did not run into even one person who was in Obama’s camp.

Not one.

For a negative guy like me, that was inspirational.

Go out and door knock.  It’ll lift your soul.  The country isn’t ape shit, bug fuck crazy.

Politicians and the media are.  But America ain’t what they know.

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 24, 2012 in politics

 

4 responses to “A Glimmer of Hope

  1. Saddlesore

    September 25, 2012 at 4:12 pm

    Didn’t your hear? Negative is the new positive!

     
  2. nooneofanyimport

    September 29, 2012 at 11:41 am

    I spend my time swinging from fiercely optimistic to gloomily fatalistic. The next 37 days can’t go by soon enough. While I haven’t gone door to door, I bring the election up with at least one stranger most days. My experience has been more mixed, but more anti-Obama than pro.

    Best
    Lin

     

Leave a Reply

 
