RSS

Not Politics. In Praise of the Bat Rocket.

16 Apr

I prefaced this with ‘Not Politics’,  but ultimately everything is politics.  We have new left of center viewers and I thought this would be a good opportunity to demonstrate commonsense conservatism.  We’re not what you think.

Behold the Bat Rocket.

 

When I first moved into this house there was a huge bat colony living in the vents above my patio releasing extremely voluminous amounts of guano down on it.  I could have screened it off and ended the saga, but bats are very beneficial if you’re not into mosquitos and gnats.

So I built a bat rocket.  A simple afternoon project, if you have a tablesaw, which makes me part of the 1% or something.

The bat rocket is a beautiful and simple thing, which allows for two chambers, with kerf cut stairs and two chambers with holes to allow access and mobility to the bats within this little condo.

I went out at dusk tonight and I counted 42 bats flowing from the bat rocket tonight.  There may have been more but  I lost interest when Mrs. Saddleburr yelled out something about chocolate cake.

Bats eat during night and can eat 500 – 1000 mosquitoes in one hour and the night is 8 hours, that can add up to 4000 – 8000.  Using the median of 6000 times 42 bats and that adds up at a quarter million per night. 

So you see, conservatives aren’t scorched earth.  We’re about saving the earth in sensible ways.

Check out this website if you’re interested in having fewer mosquito bites.  It works like a charm. 

Now.  Back to politics.  No Stimulus dollars were spent on the creation or erection of my bat rocket.  Go build one yourself.  It’s an inexpensive solution to many problems.

Or drop by.  We’ll build one together.  We can discuss philosophy.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 16, 2012 in politics

 

2 responses to “Not Politics. In Praise of the Bat Rocket.

  1. Pedro

    April 17, 2012 at 9:19 am

    The important thing is that no stimulus dollars were spent on your erection? your bat rocket? I’m struggling to suppress rude commentary. I think my next DIY project will be a still.

     
  2. Saddlesore

    April 17, 2012 at 4:09 pm

    Don’t mosquitoes deserve any respect? I think they are just misunderstood.

     

Leave a Reply

 
