RSS

CNN’s Anderson Cooper’s insensitive and bigoted outburst insults Polish Americans

11 Apr

Among Polish-Americans across the country, the Monday after Easter is a fairly significant day of celebration known as Dyngus day. This annual rite of spring is known by some as the Polish Mardi Gras. Following a long winter and to celebrate the end of the lenten season, Poles engage in parades and festive parties consisting of food, drink, and dancing to polka music. The celebration coincides with the widespread cases of spring fever which occur at this time of year and includes a courting ritual in which young men sprinkle water on young women and in turn the young women tap the young men with Pussy Willow branches.

The largest celebration is in Buffalo, NY, but it is replicated in Polish communities across the country like Cleveland, Ohio and we even had a small celebration in my home.

So when I heard that Anderson Cooper was going to do a story on Dyngus day I was excited that as an American of Polish descent, my people and our celebration would get some national press on CNN. Then the ugly face of racial bigotry shone through. Mr. Cooper was not intending to highlight an ethnic celebration, he was out to ridicule us. He called the festivities stupid, not just stupid but so stupid that he was unable to maintain his composure. He then went on to claim that Dyngus day was invented as an excuse to drink. Mr. Cooper is both painfully insensitive and cruelly insulting and I am calling on him and CNN to apologize to all Americans especially those of Polish descent.

I have included the video, that shows  Cooper’s very inappropriate outburst and insults.

UPDATE: Anderson Cooper has apologized;

Just after 1 p.m., Cooper back-pedaled on his remarks, sending out a tweet to the effect that he did not say Dyngus Day was stupid: “Just learned some groups believe I called Dyngus Day ‘so stupid’ in ridiculist. I didn’t. I was saying my giggling fit was ‘so stupid.’ “

A few moments later, Cooper sent out another tweet, apologizing: “In ridiculist I called my silly giggle fit ‘so stupid’ not @dyngusday. Sounds like a fun celebration. Genuinely sorry if I offended anyone.”

I have also learned that the Buffalo Dyngus Day organizers have invited Cooper to attend the 2013 celebration at which time they will crown him as the first ever Pussy Willow Prince.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on April 11, 2012 in politics

 

10 responses to “CNN’s Anderson Cooper’s insensitive and bigoted outburst insults Polish Americans

  1. Fairness in Media

    April 12, 2012 at 6:51 am

    It was disgusting to see Anderson Cooper ridicule and insult a Polish tradition. Sadly this anti-Polish prejudice has been par for the course for some elements of the “American” media. What he did was clearly meant to be bigoted againt Polish people. That’s why he put that coverage of a Polish tradition on his RIDICULIST.

    It appears many Polish Americans protested his anti-Polish segment and let CNN and Anderson Cooper know how they felt at the CNN offices and on the internet in various blogs.

    He basically apologized the next day as a result of many Polish Americans letting him have it and speaking out on this. Good for Polish Americans.

    Now at least we know there is one more person in the media now, who is sensitive to the Polish American community.

     
  2. Pedro

    April 12, 2012 at 8:36 am

    What a fag. Ooops, I meant what a goofy, giggling, limp excuse for a man. I’m sure he would find the Rites of Passage a regular and normal springtime celebration unworthy of a chuckle.

    http://lovemygays.com/2011/03/rites-of-spring-rites-of-passage/

     
  3. nooneofanyimport

    April 12, 2012 at 3:13 pm

    Oh, hey! I’ve never heard of Dyngus day, but that description of sprinkling water on girls they fancy remind me of what my Dad just told me the other day: that his grandmother, in Hungary, celebrated a holiday the day after Easter, he couldn’t remember what it was called. But he said the girls chased the boys they fancied, to sprinkle salt on them.

    It’s gotta be a related festivity.

    Oh goodness gracious, I was letting Cooper ramble while I typed, and he descended into the most irritating giggles. Dude, your joke isn’t that funny. Just typical “har-har a funny word for girly-part” type immaturity al a Beavis and Butthead. What a goob.

    I’ll be in touch by and by,
    best
    Lin

     
    • Chillingworth

      April 19, 2012 at 10:17 pm

      “. . . and he descended into the most irritating giggles.”

      Yes, and it just went on and on! If you’ll pardon my French, I couldn’t believe how gay his laugh sounded. And that’s saying something, because I was prepared for him to sound pretty gay.

       
  4. Saddlesore

    April 12, 2012 at 4:15 pm

    Cooper is a dork.

     
  5. genipero

    April 13, 2012 at 9:02 am

    Friends, never forget that a Pole named Karol Woytila (Pope John Paul II) partnered with our President Ronald Reagan to bring down communism in Eastern Europe. (A friend even gave me a piece of “That Wall”). And while most in the U.S.A. were hearing the News about our Navy S.E.A.L.S killing bin Laden over in Rome JPII was Beatified in Rome. Never mind what those media idiots have to say. It’s still Easter Week and today we have a bonus, today is Good Friday for the Greek people and we can share some Christian unity!

    Allelluia! Alleluia! Alleluia!

     
  6. genipero

    April 13, 2012 at 9:06 am

    Pedro ~ That link was absolutely disgusting, thanks for sharing it. We know what we’re up against… ugh

     
  7. Chillingworth

    April 19, 2012 at 10:19 pm

    “I have also learned that the Buffalo Dyngus Day organizers have invited Cooper to attend the 2013 celebration at which time they will crown him as the first ever Pussy Willow Prince.”

    I used to tell people, “I’m a conservative, we don’t believe in being ‘offended’.” In any case, for Mr. Cooper, shouldn’t it be “Pussy Willow Queen”?

     
    • Peter M

      July 3, 2012 at 4:55 pm

      I’m sure after his ‘coming out’ yesterday, your suggestion of crowning him the Pussy Willow Queen would be appropriate. Perhaps he can even admit that he’s in fact, a TV personality and not a journalist.

       
  8. Jerry Ladosky

    May 8, 2012 at 7:25 pm

    This person reminds me of all those racist and bigoted kids that made fun of me as a child and who I had to fist fight through grade school into high school. He’s the same as a person I work with who referred to me as a Pollack.

     

Leave a Reply

 
