RSS

Virginia RPV Chair Responds to Virginia Republicans

27 Dec

After thousands of comments on Facebook and blogs about the matter of the Virginia Republican presidential primary ballot, Republican Party of Virginia Chairman Pat Mullins responded on Facebook tonight;

After reading all of the comments on the Presidential Primary in 2012, I feel compelled to say something.First of all, I am neutral in the Primary. As the Party’s leader I think that it’s important I ensure a level playing field, not take a side. Plus, any one of our nominees will be better than the current occupant of the White House. Our Country is spiraling downward, economically and socially, and we need to be united to win in November, 2012.

Second, the Republican Party of Virginia merely certifies petition signatures. We don’t set ballot access laws. Those laws are set by the General Assembly, not by the RPV.

The candidates for President all knew the laws set by the Commonwealth of Virginia that they needed to abide by to get on the ballot. We can’t change the rules mid-game to right what may or may not be a wrong. The law is the law.

Lastly, this is a personal opinion. Virginia is the cradle of Democracy. The ballot access laws should be modified and streamlined to allow greater participation. We can’t do anything about 2012 at this point. But I do intend to appeal to our General Assembly and elected leaders to bring Virginia’s ballot access more in line with other states — simpler and streamlined with greater access. I think it’s important that the people in Virginia get to vote for the candidate of their choice, not be restricted.

One more thing — Rick Perry sued Virginia, RPV and me today, so I probably going to be told by our lawyers I can’t say anything more about this. It’s not usual that I’m sued by someone I like, but politics is strange, huh? :}

 
3 Comments

Posted by on December 27, 2011 in politics

 

3 responses to “Virginia RPV Chair Responds to Virginia Republicans

  1. Laura Glover

    December 28, 2011 at 8:56 am

    Interesting~ Thanks for the update.

     
  2. Lester Gabriel

    January 15, 2012 at 4:37 pm

    I think what the Chairman failed to address is that current “leadership” from the State level to the Congressional District and City/County levels utterly failed to inform their members of the process and the deadlines. Yes the campaigns and the candidates failed, but if the followers of each of the candidates in the State knew about the requirements back in Sept/Oct, they could have easily gotten 10,000/400 threshhold. I was about to get involved in getting signatures for Herman Cain in October, but he pulled out before I could get the petitions. I called RPV later and found out that they did not have contact information for the Santorum or Bachmann campaigns in Virginia. (I’ll bet they had contact information for Romney). Lastly, Mr Mullins says that 5 days is not enough to correctly verify as many as 70,000 signatures (if all 7 candidates had turned in the minimum). What he failed to say is why and how we got into that 5 day window just before Christmas. I would guess that was at least partly due to poor planning by RPV and not just State Law.

     
  3. Clay Diggs

    March 6, 2012 at 9:33 am

    I’ve voted in every Republican primary and general election since 1980. That streak ends today. I’ve watched all primary debates and am well aware of the Commonwealth’s position, and the fact they authorize only two names on the official ballot today. Your process for including presidential candidates must change. The state that produced Washington, Jefferson, Madison and Monroe looks like a fool today relative to all other states. Acknowledging only two of the candidates who have been in the national spotlight for months is also making me sit this one out. I hope many of my fellow Virginians do likewise.

     

Leave a Reply

 
