RSS

The Curmudgeon Returns

27 Dec

Although I’ve been back from the tropical paradise of Tortola for a while…

… I’ve not been all that anxious to jump back into the blog for fear of erasing the blissful feeling I worked so hard to attain.

But it’s Festivus.

And it’s time for the Airing of Grievances!!!

Grievance #1

I’m still not sure who to be pissed at about the fact that Virginia is stuck with the choice between Willard “Mitt” Romney and the angry, constipated chicken as the two candidates from whom we get to choose for the Republican nomination for President.  We have the worst President in American history and that this is our choice is making me apopleptic.  There is plenty of finger pointing going on, but the threshold for signatures is just too damned high and I want to know who is responsible for this. 

So we don’t get a choice, and like 2008, I probably won’t even participate in the primary.  And this coming from a guy who actually went down and volunteered for 3 hours to certify signatures.  I’m not a bystander in this state and I’ve watched every debate except 1.  I don’t know if it’s the Republican Party of Virginia, the individual candidates that couldn’t deliver signatures or what.  All you candidates needed to do was to send out a message that you needed signatures.  Why am I only hearing about this after the fact?

Republicans are doing what they do best.  Turning Republican voters into ex-Republican voters.  Way to go, guys.

Grievance #2

Why don’t the national Republicans at the Senate and House level take back the language on this so-called ‘payroll tax cut’?  Why not call it what it is and refuse to support it?  It’s the defunding of Social Security, isn’t it?  That and the extension of the hammock pay for the permanently unemployable deadbeat recipient class.  Are you afraid that the boy king will successfully be able to characterize himself as a tax cutter and his opposition as tax hikers?  Seriously?  Or was it all about heading home for bourbon infused eggnog by the fire?  There is no way you should have lost that argument.  Repeat after me…Democrats are draining Social Security.  Give it a try next time when it comes up again. 

In 2 months.

Dummies.

Grievance #3

Hey baby.  It’s me, Barack.  I know I told you that once you paid me to go away the last time that I would.  Well.  I’m kinda outta dough again, baby.  Remember the good times?  Did you lose weight?  Girl, you’re lookin’ FINE!!  OOO WEEE!!

Say.  I’m gonna need another $1,200,000,000,000 to get by ’til payday.  I promise I’m good for it.

What now, Republicans?  What now?

BUT.

It is Festivus and there was a Fesitivus MIRACLE today!  Ben Nelson, D-sellout, Nebraska, realizes he’ll get his ass handed to him if he tries to get re-elected because of his little ObamyCare mishap that destroyed his phony blue dog credientials, so he’s retiring. 

Automatically the dinosaur media is putting another Democrat into that seat in one Bob Kasey.  Any chance that Nebraskans have had just about enough of Democrats or are Republicans going to screw this up, too?

Now you see why the curmudgeon wasn’t chomping at the bit to weigh in.

I’ve got a lot of problems with you Republicans and I’m about done with you.

Next up?  FEATS OF STRENGTH!

Update:  I have been informed that it’s Bob Kerrey, not Bob Kasey.  In deference to the Kasey family I apologize if I inadvertently miscast you as….Nebraskans.  As long as we don’t get a Senator Bob something or other (D)- NE I doesn’t matter to me.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on December 27, 2011 in politics

 

6 responses to “The Curmudgeon Returns

  1. Laura Glover

    December 27, 2011 at 9:05 pm

    It’s good to have you back! Merry Festivus!

     
    • P. Henry Saddleburr

      December 27, 2011 at 9:14 pm

      I’ll have you know that wasn’t a fake Corona ad. That was an actual beer with my actual sandy toes to my bunion festooned feet. I’d like to say it’s good to be back. But thanks for the welcome, Laura. Happy Festivus to you.

      Now.

      I’ve gotta go kick the cat.

      (Not really)

      I’m still amazed how these Republicans can be so flaccid and ineffectual. Is it reaaaaallly that hard to pony up a slate of candidates and issues against this president? Really? Good Lord.

       
  2. Martin M. McMartin

    December 27, 2011 at 10:05 pm

    Peter Lorre’s outburst at Gingrich for failing to get enough signatures to get on the Virginia primary ballot.

     
  3. Todd Vander Pol

    December 27, 2011 at 10:29 pm

    Welcome back bro.
    I agree on all accounts, well stated.
    Cuccinelli has it right, 100 signatures per Congressional district and you are in.
    I am tired of volunteer work, year after year. It is no wonder only to cooks end up participating.

     
  4. Pedro

    December 28, 2011 at 9:59 am

    I hear you and I’m bobbing my head in agreement. I’m not suffering the Virginia Primary Blues as you are but the rest of the commentary is painfully stuck in my craw like an unbaited barb. Of course we all knew that another debt ceiling was lurking above the last one – that’s why they call it a ceiling isn’t it? So we can go higher and higher as though it wasn’t there? I’m so disgusted that I can hardly bear to leave my eyes and ears open to much more. It would have been understandable had you opted to stay on Tortola and draw whatever you could from Social Security if you were only old enough. Certainly those bunions are enough for a disability claim aren’t they? I’m sure that there are tens of thousands on the dole with less disability than your tired dogs. I personally know of at least three.

     
  5. Saddlesore

    December 28, 2011 at 1:39 pm

    I guess there weren’t any chill pills under your Festivus pole this year. Better luck next year.

     

Leave a Reply

 
