RSS

Don’t you hate it when something seems familiar and you can’t quite put your finger on it?

17 Nov

It’s an earwig.  It’s a pebble in your sneaker.  It’s something that just bugs you, but you can’t figure out what’s bugging you.

When I infiltrated the first Richmond, VA Occupy movement a month back,  where I witnessed my first ‘Human Megaphone’, there was something vaguely familiar about a group of people speaking the same words in unison.  What was it? 

Fast forward to today.

I received an email from Hillsdale College where Professor Gary Wolfram was making fun of the message of the Occupy movement and hearkened back to a scene from Monty Python’s ‘The Life of Brian’.

Whenever I watch media coverage of another Occupy Wall Street event I am reminded of an exchange between Jewish protesters in the 1979 Monte Python movie Life of Brian. One of the protesters asks another what the Romans have brought to the area and the conversation goes like this:

Question: All right, but apart from the sanitation, medicine, education, wine, public order, irrigation, roads, the fresh water system and public health, what have the Romans ever done for us?
Answer: Brought peace?
Response: Oh, peace – shut up!

I saw the Life of Brian when it came out in 1979 and but this email that made me go to You Tube to watch The Life of Brian again, and then this scene caused me do to the forehead slap.  THAT’S IT!!  That’s where I’d seen that bizarre group speak behavior before. 

I did a search on Life of Brian Occupy on You Tube and somebody was way ahead of me.  A month ahead of me.  This is terrific.

In my own defense, it has been 30+ years since I saw the film and it was most certainly seen in a cannibis infused haze, a fixture for most of us those days.

But, being the blessed individual that I am, this search also revealed a fresh new blogger with lots of energy and a like minded patriot, Sarah Roman, at AmericanFreedom, who has been added to our blog roll..

That she posted this Allen West video puts her at the top of the blog roll. That and alphabetical filing.  But I kid.

Yes it’s a CNS link, but she’s doing the hard work of sifting through lots of material and offers up a fresh perspective. Let’s just say that she’s got lots of stuff that isn’t on Drudge, or Hot Air, or Ace, or PJ Media.  And obviously, Disrupt the Narrative. 

Do you think that the good Colonel is slightly pissed off?  Do you think that we all need to be slightly pissed off going into next year’s election?

Right.  Like you weren’t already.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 17, 2011 in politics

 

3 responses to “Don’t you hate it when something seems familiar and you can’t quite put your finger on it?

  1. nooneofanyimport

    November 18, 2011 at 4:52 pm

    nice. I hadn’t made the connection either, and I should have, since Life of Brian is a favorite in this house.

     
    • P. Henry Saddleburr

      November 18, 2011 at 11:11 pm

      I just heard another head slap.

       
  2. Carpe Jugulum

    November 20, 2011 at 3:30 am

    I don’t think even the Monty Python crew could have thought up the ocufail movement.

     

Leave a Reply

 
